Skip to main content

Ayaka Suesada named to Capital District Sports Women of the Year Class of 2022

ALBANY, NY – Ayaka Suesada, a senior at Hawthorne Valley Waldorf School, has been named as one of the 10 scholastic award recipients for 2022 by the Capital District Sports Women of the Year organization.

Ayaka, who competes in soccer, girls basketball, volleyball and on the boys basketball team, will be recognized at the Capital District Sports Women of the Year Awards Gala on Monday, August 8 at 7:00 p.m. at the GE Theatre at Proctors in Schenectady. Ticket information is to be announced.

The Capital District Sports Women of the Year (CDSWOY) organization honors the best and brightest female student athletes from high schools and colleges in the Capital District of New York State. The student-athletes will be recognized for their achievements in academics, athletics, and community service. More information is provided at the website:

Ayaka, a 4.0 student, grew up in a Camphill community for adults with special needs, where both parents were live-in caregivers and co-workers in her current residence in Hudson, New York. Thus, she was surrounded by people with special needs and developmental differences who were integrated into their community and participating in work, education, and family life.

Ayaka volunteers various occasions in her community. She has also been a leader of climate action efforts at Hawthorne Valley Waldorf School and has been a mentor in academics, athletics, and social justice to younger members of the school community.

Athletically, Ayaka has been a standout player in multiple sports since fifth grade. She competed in club soccer as well. After two years of no sports due to COVID, Ayaka played for the girls volleyball team for the first time and earned CHVL All-League honors. Hawthorne Valley Waldorf did not field a team in girls basketball in the 2021-22 season, so she tried out and made the boys team. She became a starter and team captain for that squad.

CDSWOY will announce the next student-athlete recipient on June 24. A total of 10 high school and three college female student-athletes will be honored.

Print Friendly Version